The 30 Day Film Challenge

I saw a post on a tumblr page the other day called ‘The 30 Day Film Challenge’ and I thought I’d give it a go.

But as I am the most inconsistent person alive, I’m just gonna do it all in one go.

FIGHT ME BRO.

Day 1 – Your Favourite Film

Any of the Toy Story films really, for me, they are the pinnacle of all aspects of quality film-making.

Day 2 – Your Least Favourite Film

There are quite a few but the only one that springs to mind at the moment is Bridget Jones’ Diary. It’s a morally horrible and degrading film with camp, cheesy performances. Somebody explain to me how Zellweger was nominated for an Oscar for this?

Day 3 – The Last Film You Saw At The Cinema

Horrible Bosses 2. It was shit.

Day 4 – The First Film You Saw At The Cinema

I think it was Toy Story 2, that’s if my memory serves me correctly. I was very young.

Day 5 – The First Film You Bought On DVD

That’s too difficult. Probably something stupid like Help, I’m a Fish!

Day 6 – A Film By Your Favourite Director

This Is England by Shane Meadows. I’ve not yet seen a Meadows film that I’ve disliked. He’s a raw and down-to-earth filmmaker with a passion for realism and honesty.

Day 7 – A Film By Your Least Favourite Director

I don’t have a least favourite director but one of the worst directed film I’ve seen is M. Night Shyamalan job on he Last Airbender. That is a different kind of awful.

Day 8 – A Film With Your Favourite Actor

Locke featuring Tom Hardy. Once again, I don’t think I’ve ever seen a film featuring Tom Hardy that I’ve dislike (Never seen ‘This Means War’. don’t plan on it either) but he is particularly stunning in the one man show that is Locke.

Day 9 – A Film With Your Favourite Actress

I don’t really have a favourite actress but one of my favourite female performances has got to be Charlize Theron in Monster. It’s not a performance, it’s an embodiment.

Day 10 – The Most Overrated Film You’ve Seen

Titanic. Apart from the last 30 minutes why does everyone love the film so much? It’s soooooo boring.

Day 11 – The Most Underrated Film You’ve Seen

44 Inch Chest. It wasn’t very well recieved by the critics and audiences alike but this Brit crime drama takes place in a single room and features a collection of powerhouse performances from some of Britain’s film greats such as Ray Winstone, John Hurt, Ian McShane and Tom Wilkinson.

Day 12 – A Film You Wish More People Had Seen

Happy-Go-Lucky. Mike Leigh’s brilliant character study has been seen by too few people and features two star-making performances from Sally Hawkins and Eddie Marsan.

Day 13 – A Film No One Would Expect You To Like

Notting Hill. It’s schmalzy and mushy and all sort’s of romcom wrong but the film has a certain charm that I just can’t resist (prrobably courtesy of Rhys Ifans).

Day 14 – Your Favourite Film As a Kid

Probably Toy Story again. Man, I love those films.

Day 15 – Your Favourite Animated Movie

Fancy taking a guess?

Day 16 – Your Favourite Foreign Language Film

My Neighbor Totoro. A beautful animated film from Japan’s Studio Ghibli that always leaves you with a warm feeling inside.

Day 17 – Your Favourite Super Hero Film

The Dark Knight. Heath Ledger. That is all.

Day 18 – Your Favourite Biopic

The Pianist. A tense and brilliant re-telling of a pianist’s struggles in the Second World War.

Day 19 – Your Favourite Trilogy/Quadrilogy/Etc.

Toy Story Trilogy. Woody and Buzz ftw.

Day 20 – The Funniest Film You’ve Ever Seen

Monty Python and The Holy Grail. Pure hilarity.

Day 21 – The Most Bizarre Film You’ve Ever Seen

Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas. It’s a great film with great performances, but damn it’s weird.

Day 22 – The Most Depressing Film You’ve Ever Seen

Million Dollar Baby. Jesus, that film is so grim.

Day 23 – The Most Powerful Film You’ve Ever Seen

The Pianist. Never has my heart been in my mouth for so long before.

Day 24 – The Film You Are Most Looking Forward To Seeing

I’m looking forward to seeing The Reverant. Hot of the heels of his Oscar for Best Director, Alejandro. G. Inarritu will be directing Leo DiCaprio, Tom Hardy, Will Poulter and Domhnall Gleeson. That just sounds incredible.

Day 25 – A Movie You Could Quote Word For Word (Or Near Enough)

Napoleon Dynamite or Anchorman. Seen those films way too many times.

Day 26 – A Movie That Was Filmed Where You Live (Or Close To)

I live in Wales. I can’t recall anything being filmed here recently. Any Help?

Day 27 – A Film So Bad It’s Good

Crank 2: High Voltage. It’s just a complete chaotic mess of a film, which is why I loved it so much.

Day 28 – Your Favourite Movie Protagonist

Shaun from Shaun of the Dead. Just a likeable lead even when he is being a tool, and he comes through for us in the end

Day 29 – Your Favourite Movie Villain

SS Hans Landa in Inglorious Basterds. Christoph Waltz is just pure evil in this Tarantino beauty.

Day 30 – Your Favourite Movie Cameo

Bill Murray in Zombieland is a pretty good one. Though I do enjoy Stan Lee’s cameo in Mallrats.

How about you give it a go? Let me know your answers?

– Iwan D

Leave a Reply

